Everyone who knows me WELL, knows that in general I am a dog lover. I have had Yorkies for years. In recent years, I have had other dogs living with me..... but 5 dogs was WAY too much for even me. Josh acquired a dog of his own when he lived in our home in Norman. However, with the sale of that home and the move to an apartment, Matt needed to find a new home. Thankfully my sister was very helpful in this.... She found a new home for Matt. Unfortunately after two weeks the kid was allergic to Matt and Matt moved back home! I put her on the job again and this is where my story REALLY begins.
Vickie called on Saturday to tell me that she MAY have found someone to take Matt. (Of course all of the requirements were met - must have kids, must be able to provide health care for Matt, and must be able to provide a good home). She told me the family was considering coming to get him. I offered to take him 1/2 way, or all the way, but she said they would let her know IF they wanted him and IF they were coming to get him.
Now for several years, we have been having life groups at our home on Sunday afternoons. This particular Sunday it was nice weather outside so I put all 5 dogs outside - the 2 Yorkies, the boxer, the 1/2 chow,1/2 black lab, and Matt, the Golden Retriever - so we could enjoy our meal together without dog involvement. At about 2 p.m. life group was over. I was going to have a nice nap when my cell phone rang (it had previously dinged during life groups, but I forgot to look to see who texted me and what the text said). I answered the phone and it was the family who was going to come to get Matt - they were 30 minutes from my home and asking for directions which I gave without hesitation. I then looked at the text message which was from my sister. It read "they are on their way and will be there about 2:30". UGH. Where was that dog? Oh yes. I had left them all outside.
Now during the past few days I have taken it upon myself to empty the water from my pool. It was down to the last few inches - solid black stinky gunk that smelled like a sewer. ALSO, during the past few days we have had the concrete in our back yard COMPLETELY taken out so where my concrete was is now solid dirt! Needless to say this is NOT a good combination for Matt. Not only is he wet with stinky smelling water, he has rolled in the dirt AND I have 30 minutes to make him look like a dog you would want to take home!!!!!
Being the smart person I am, I realize if I bath him outside he will just get in the dirt again and be a mud ball when his new family arrives. I also realized I have no option but to bring that darn dog in the house to clean him up. I quickly changed my clothes, dragged him to the shower, shoved him in, and proceeded to have him shake stink and mud all over me!!!!! I am now down to 20 minutes!
I proceed to bathe, rinse, bathe, rinse, bathe, rinse...... etc. I am making great headway with the dog. However I now look like I have been in the pool and rolled in the dirt and I smell even worse. I shut the shower door after scrubbing that darn dog to a sparkling clean and wait for him to shake the excess water off. "Shake you idiot" I am screaming at the shower door. I am now down to 10 minutes. Still no shake!
I grabbed two beach towels, throw them over Matt and proceed to dry the dog. Then I decide to get the blow dryer and dry him that way. I am not sure at this minute if I have stink up my nose or the dog still stinks but I am now down to 5 minutes! I decide to spray the dog with Mike's good cologne! I then quickly wash off myself, blow my wet hair dry, and spray some of that cologne on myself, just as I hear a knock on the door!
The dog is now gone to a nice new home, my shower has a much needed scrubbing, and so do I. I am now down to the 4 dogs I can tolerate and life is now down to a 3-ring circus which I can juggle!
Until next time.
Friday, May 4, 2012
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)